Florida State Senate

The Florida Senate is the upper house of the Florida Legislature. The Senate is composed of a single representative from the 40 districts. Each district has an approximate population of 470,032. Senators serve a four-year term and are restricted by term-limits confining them to two consecutive terms (eight years).

Generally, Senators from odd-numbered districts are elected years tandem with the Presidential election; Senators in even-numbered districts are elected alongside elections for Florida's statewide offices. All Senators will be up for re-election during those years in ending in the digit "2" (e.g., 2002, 2012).

Of the 40 seats available in the Florida State Senate, the Democratic Party holds 13 seats, while the Republican Party holds the majority at 26 seats; one seat is vacant.


DistrictMembers 2010-2012Firearm IssuesArea of Responsibility
1 Gibson, Audrey (D)   Parts of Duval, Flagler, Putnam, St. Johns, and Volusia Counties
2 Evers, Greg (R)   Holmes, Washington, and parts of Bay, Escambia, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, and Walton Counties
3 Dean, Charles S., Sr. (R)   Baker, Dixie, Hamilton, Lafayette, Suwannee, Taylor, and parts of Citrus, Columbia, Jefferson, Leon, Levy, Madison, and Marion Counties
4 Gaetz, Don (R)   Parts of Bay, Escambia, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, and Walton Counties
5 Wise, Stephen R. (R)   Parts of Clay, Duval, Nassau, and St. Johns Counties
6 Montford, Bill (D)   Calhoun, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Jackson, Liberty, Wakulla, and Parts of Bay, Jefferson, Leon, and Madison Counties
7 Lynn, Evelyn J. (R)   Parts of Clay, Marion, Putnam, and Volusia Counties
8 Thrasher, John (R)   Parts of Duval, Flagler, Nassau, St. Johns, and Volusia Counties
9 Gardiner, Andy (R)   Parts of Orange, Osceola, and Seminole Counties
10 Storms, Ronda (R)   Parts of Hillsborough, Pasco, and Polk Counties
11 Fasano, Mike (R)   Parts of Citrus, Hernando, Pasco, and Pinellas Counties
12 Norman, Jim (R)   Parts of Hillsborough, and Pasco Counties
13 Jones, Dennis L., D.C. (R)   Parts of Pinellas Counties
14 Oelrich, Steve (R)   Alachua, Bradford, Gilchrist, Union, and parts of Columbia, Levy, Marion, and Putnam Counties
15 Dockery, Paula (R)   Parts of Hernando, Lake, Osceola, Polk, and Sumter Counties
16 Latvala, Jack (R)   Parts of Hillsborough, and Pinellas Counties
17 Alexander, JD (R)   Parts of Hardee, Highlands, and parts of DeSoto, Glades, Okeechobee, Polk, and St. Lucie Counties
18 Joyner, Arthenia L. (D)   Parts of Hillsborough, Manatee, and Pinellas Counties
19 Siplin, Gary (D)   Parts of Orange, and Osceola Counties
20 Hays, Alan (R)   Parts of Lake, Marion, Seminole, Sumter, and Volusia Counties
21 Bennet, Michael S. "Mike" (R)   Parts of Charlotte, DeSoto, Lee, Manatee, and Sarasota Counties
22 Simmons, David (R)   Parts of Broward and Palm Beach Counties
23 Detert, Nancy C. (R)   Parts of Charlotte, Manatee, and Sarasota Counties
24 Altman, Thad (R)   Parts of Brevard, Orange, and Seminole Counties
25 Bogdanoff, Ellyn Setnor (R)   Parts of Broward and Palm Beach Counties
26 Haridopolis, Mike (R)   Parts of Brevard, Indian River, Osceola, and St. Lucie Counties
27 Benacquisto, Lizbeth (R)   Parts of Charlotte, Glades, Hendry, Lee, and Palm Beach Counties
28 Negron, Joe (R)   Martin and parts of Indian River, Okeechobee, Palm Beach, and St. Lucie Counties
29 Smith, Christopher L. "Chris" (R)   Parts of Broward and Palm Beach Counties
30 Sachs, Maria Lorts (D)   Parts of Broward and Palm Beach Counties
31 Sobel, Eleanor (D)   Parts of Broward County
32 Ring, Jeremy (D)   Parts of Broward County
33 Braynon, Oscar, II (D)   Parts of Miami-Dade County
34 Rich, Nan H. (D)   Parts of Broward and Miami-Dade Counties
35 Margolis, Gwen (D)   Parts of Broward and Miami-Dade Counties
36 Diaz de la Portilla, Miguel (R)   Parts of Miami-Dade County
37 Richter, Garrett (R)   Parts of Collier and Lee Counties
38 Flores, Anitere (R)   Parts of Maimi-Dade County
39 Bullard, Larcenia J. (D)   Monroe and parts of Broward, Collier, Hendry, Miami-Dade, and Palm Beach Counties
40 Garcia, Rene (D)   Parts of Miami-Dade County


Sources from the Florida Senate.gov and Wiki.