FL-Reciprocity

 

Section 790.015, Florida Statutes, allows Florida to recognize concealed weapon licenses issued by another state provided that the other state will honor Florida concealed weapon licenses. In accordance with this section of law, we have reached reciprocity/mutual recognition agreements with the states that appear in the table below. Therefore, your Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License is valid in any of these states. Conversely, resident concealed weapon license holders of the states can carry concealed weapons here in Florida. (Note the exception concerning the State of Vermont.)

 

Alabama (1,3,5), Alaska (1), Arizona (6), Arkansas (1), Colorado (1,4), Delaware, Georgia (1), Idaho (3,6), Indiana (1,3,6), Iowa (6), Kansas (1), Kentucky, Louisiana (1), Michigan (1,4), Mississippi (1), Missouri, Montana (3), Nebraska (1), New Hampshire (1,3,4,6), New Mexico (1), North Carolina (1), Ohio (1), Oklahoma (1), Pennsylvania (1,6), South Carolina (1,4,6), South Dakota (1,4,6), Tennessee (1,6), Texas (1,3,6), Utah (1,6), Vermont (2), Virginia (1,6), Washington (1,6), West Virginia (1), Wyoming (1,3)

 

Please note that this list is ALWAYS KEPT CURRENT and is updated only when states are added or deleted. Recent Modifications include:
• July 1, 2009: NEVADA removed because Nevada authorities terminated the agreement.
• January 1, 2011: IOWA added.
• March 26, 2012: NEW MEXICO removed because New Mexico authorities terminated the agreement.
• May 8, 2012: NEW MEXICO re-added to the list after authorities at the New Mexico Department of Public Safety confirmed that they would once again honor Florida concealed weapon licenses.


If you have any questions about concealed weapon license reciprocity with other states, please submit those questions to the Division of Licensing via e-mail to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

 

NOTES:
(1) While Florida's law allows licensees to carry stun guns, knives, and billy clubs in a concealed fashion, the laws in these states allow for concealed carry of handguns or pistols ONLY, NOT WEAPONS IN GENERAL. Florida license holders are prohibited from carrying other types of weapons while in these states.
(2) The State of VERMONT does not issue concealed weapon licenses, nor is such a license required in order to carry a concealed firearm in that state. This presents a problem for reciprocity with Florida. However, Section 790.015(1)(b), Florida Statutes, specifies that an out-of-state resident must have in his or her immediate possession a valid license to carry a concealed weapon or firearm issued by that person's state of residence. Therefore, VERMONT residents cannot carry a concealed firearm here.
(3) Individuals qualify for concealed weapon licenses in these states upon reaching 18 years of age. HOWEVER, any licensee of these reciprocity states who is not 21 years of age or older IS PROHIBITED from carrying a concealed weapon or firearm in Florida.
(4) These states will honor the Florida concealed weapon license ONLY IF the license holder is a legal resident of the State of Florida.
(5) The Attorney General's Office of the State of ALABAMA has indicated that Alabama will honor BOTH resident and non-resident Florida licenses. However, the Alabama Attorney General notes that there is some uncertainty as to the limits of Alabama's reciprocity law as it pertains to non-resident licenses. Pending clarification by the Alabama Legislature or a decision by an Alabama court, he urges non-resident Florida license holders to exercise caution. Licensees should call authorities in Alabama to obtain the most current information.
(6) These states issue concealed carry licenses to qualified individuals who are non-residents. These non-resident permits cannot be honored under Florida's reciprocity provision.

For more information contact Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services - Division of Licensing.