Florida Governor

The office of state Governor is the head of the executive branch in the state of Florida and the commander-in-chief of the states military. The Governor has the power to approve or veto legislation passed by the Florida Legislator (Florida House of Representatives and Florida Congress), to convene the legislature, and to grant pardons.

Since statehood on March 3, 1845, there have been 43 who have served as Governor. In 1838, the first Florida Constitution provided that a governor be elected every four years and not allowed to serve a consecutive term. The current constitution of 1968 allows for no more then 2 consecutive terms. Additionally, the office of Lieutenant Governor was created. Both offices are elected on the same ticket.


MemberAffiliationAssumed Office
Governor Rick Scott Republican January 4, 2011
Lt. Governor Jennifer Carroll Republican January 4, 2011


Firearms and the Right to Bear Arms

Governor Scott opposes restrictions on the right to bear arms. August 11, 2010 Governor Scott completed the 10-CC-q10 survey summarizing his stance on the right to keep and bear arms.


Sources from Florida Governor.com, On The Issue, Christian Coalition of American, and Wiki.